Archive | July, 2021

September Submission Challenge Market list

12 Jul

WHAT IS THE CHALLENGE?:- Submit a story every day to a paying market for a month. Or as many stories as you can.
WHAT DO I NEED TO TAKE PART?:-30 finished stories, or as many as the number of days you intend to sub for. Ensure they are A) Finished. B) Spellchecked, proofed, edited, grammar passed & ready to sub.
WHERE ARE THESE MARKETS FROM?:-Chosen & vetted by me, I pick the places I’d like to get my work into, plus they have to be open during Septmber & pay money for stories.
DO I HAVE TO SUB TO THESE MARKETS?:-Of course not, I’ve selected these to make life easier. If you want to sub elsewhere, or to a different palce than I chose for that day, feel free. I’m not your parents.
CAN ANYONE TAKE PART?:-Providing you can follow these simple rules, yes.
RULES:-Before we start, publicly declare you’re in, and how many days you intend to sub for. Do it on social media, make sure to tag me in it @RayDaleyWriter
Then simply post each day where you’ve sent a story to.
Many participants keep a daily log so they can put up a blog post at the end of the month how they fared. So tracking rejections & acceptances is a damn good idea too.
IS THIS THE 1ST TIME YOU’VE DONE IT?:-No. September will be our 2nd birthday!
WHAT KIND OF SUCCESS CAN YOU GUARENTEE?:- None at all. However, I personally made a pro sale off the challenge last year, and almost everyone who has previously taken part has at least 1 sale to their name.

CAVEAT:- All markets are confirmed as open & paying unless otherwise marked.

01 Fantasy Magazine (short & long form) https://adamant.moksha.io/publication/fantasy/guidelines OR On The Premises (Monster Theme) https://onthepremises.com/current-contest/

02 Cosmic Roots & Eldritch Shores https://cosmicrootsandeldritchshores.com/submissions/ OR The Periodical, Forlorn https://www.periodicalforlorn.com/submission-guidelines (Theme: Moonlighting)

03 Flash Fiction Online http://flashfictiononline.com/main/submission-guidelines-flash-fiction/ OR Micro Madness (Cosmic Horror Monthly) https://www.cosmichorrormonthly.com/micro-madness/ (any day 1st to 7th)

04 Hexagon Magazine https://hexagonmagazine.ca/submit/ or Dark Moon Books http://www.darkmoonbooks.com/Submissions.html

05 Underland Arcana https://www.underlandarcana.com/submissions/ OR Clarkesworld http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/submissions/

06 Metaphorosis https://magazine.metaphorosis.com/guidelines/ OR PseudoPod https://pseudopod.org/submissions/

07 Analog https://www.analogsf.com/contact-us/writers-guidelines/ OR ParSec https://www.pspublishing.co.uk/parsec-79-c.asp

08 Titanic Terastructures https://horrortree.com/taking-submissions-titanic-terastructures/ OR Flash Point Science Fiction https://flashpointsf.com/submissions/

09 Silver Blade https://www.silverblade.net/submissions-2/ OR Compelling http://compellingsciencefiction.com/guidelines.html

10 Escape Pod https://escapepod.org/guidelines/short-fiction/ OR Dream Of Shadows https://www.dreamofshadows.co.uk/submission-guidelines

11 Shoreline Of Infinity https://www.shorelineofinfinity.com/submissions/ OR Silence in the City https://www.foundershousepublishing.com/2021/07/silence-in-city-open-call-for.html

12 F&SF https://www.sfsite.com/fsf/glines.htm OR Dose Of Dread https://dreadstonepress.com/submissions/

13 The Future Fire http://futurefire.net/guidelines/fiction.html OR Fireside Fiction https://firesidefiction.com/submissions (Sept 13th-19th)

14 The Arcanist https://thearcanist.io/a-call-for-submissions-244f646d25a4 OR From the Farther Trees – https://farthertrees.wordpress.com/submissions/ (Halloween theme)

15 Lamplight https://lamplightmagazine.com/submissions/ OR Nature:Futures http://blogs.nature.com/futureconditional/2015/04/19/how-to-write-for-nature-futures/ OR Factor Four https://factorfourmag.com/submissionsinfo/

16 Translunar Travelers Lounge https://translunartravelerslounge.com/submissions/ OR Nightmare Magazine https://adamant.moksha.io/publication/nightmare/guidelines (Open for Flash & Short Fiction)

17 Interzone/Black Static (horror) http://ttapress.com/interzone/guidelines/ OR Perpetual Motion Machine https://pmmpublishing.submittable.com/submit/34164/perpetual-flash-fiction

18 Not One Of Us https://not-one-of-us.pub/about/guidelines/ OR Frozen Wavelets https://earthianhivemind.net/frozen-wavelets/

19 Bards & Sages Quarterly OR Society of Misfit Stories (same URL) https://www.bardsandsages.com/contact_us/fiction_submission_guidelines/

20 Electric Spec http://www.electricspec.com/Submissions.html OR Dark Moments https://www.blackharepress.com/submissions/ (close Sept 30th)

21 Strange Horizons (before 4pm) http://strangehorizons.com/submit/fiction-submission-guidelines/ OR Freeze Frame Fiction https://freezeframefiction.com/write/submission-guidelines-faq/

22 Brink https://www.brinkliterary.com/submit OR Monstroddities https://sliceduppress.com/submissions/

23 The Overcast https://theovercast.libsyn.com/submissions-guidelines OR Three Lobed Burning Eye https://www.3lobedmag.com/submissions.html

24 No Sleep Podcast https://www.thenosleeppodcast.com/submissions OR Samjoko Magazine https://www.samjokomagazine.com/submission-guidelines

25 The Common Tongue https://www.commontonguezine.com/guidelines-submissions/ OR Mirror, Mirror https://wordfirewestern.moksha.io/publication/2/3/submit

26 The Colored Lens http://thecoloredlens.com/?page_id=8/ OR Dark Recesses http://darkrecessespress.com/submissions/

27 The Fuckening http://scifilampoon.com/the-fuckening/ OR The Quiet Ones https://wearethequietones.com/submission-calls/

28 Daily Science Fiction https://dailysciencefiction.com/submit OR Etherea Magazine https://ethereamagazine.com/submissions/

29 Swords & Sorceries Volume 3:- https://paralleluniversepublications.blogspot.com/2021/07/submissions-open-for-swords-sorceries.html OR The Dread Machine https://www.thedreadmachine.com/submit/ (CANT CONFIRM)

30 Heroic Fantasy Quarterly https://www.heroicfantasyquarterly.com/?page_id=39 OR Clarkesworld http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/submissions/

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

SPARE:- Negative Space 2: A Return to Survival Horror https://www.darkpeninsulapress.com/negative-space-2-opening-soon.html
Trees Anthology:- https://www.jerseypinesink.com/
On Spec https://onspecmag.wpcomstaging.com/submissions/ (open all September)
Weird Horror https://undertowpublications.com/weird-horror-magazine (open all September)
Screaming in the Night https://www.sinistersmilepress.com/sitn-submission-guidelines (Closes Sept 8th ’21)
Unstamatic https://www.unstamatic.info/submissions
Heirlock https://heirlockmag.com/submit/ (theme:-Home)


So this was June 2021

1 Jul

I’ve made 262 new submissions. 218 rejections. 9 acceptances.

SALES & ACCEPTANCES:-

Letters From The Phased Photonic Travel Company sold to Utopia Science Fiction, Jan 14th 2021.
Rescue Me sold to Hireath Publishing, Jan 31st, 2021.
Philip K. Dick Does It sold to The Angry Noodle, Feb 23rd 2021. (1st non-fiction sale!)
Exactly The Wrong Shade Of Green sold to The Lorelei Signal, Mar 7th 2021.
Overground sold to COLP, Apr 5th 2021.
The Message sold to Stupefying Stories, Apr 28th 2021.
Fixing Broken Dreams sold to Stupefying Stories, May 23rd 2021.
For Sale; Used Time Machine. No Refunds! sold to Stupefying Stories, Jun 1st 2021.
The Witless Protection Scheme sold to Flash In A Flash, Jun 20th 2021.

There are currently 61 stories out in submission:-

PUBLISHED THIS YEAR:-

Lost Souls was released at Daily Science Fiction, Jan 27th 2021.
Grandmothers Shoes was released at Bards And Sages Quarterly, April issue, Mar 30th 2021.
Overground was released in COLP:Underground, May 23rd 2021.
Fixing Broken Dreams was released at Stupefying Stories, May 28th, 2021.
The Message was released at Stupefying Stories, June 4th, 2021.
For Sale: Used Time Machine. No Refunds! was released at Stupefying Stories, June 7th, 2021.
The Witless Protection Scheme was released at Flash In A Flash newsletter,June 25th, 2021.
Letters From the Phased Photonic Travel Company was released at Utopia Science Fiction, Vol 2, Issue 6. June 30th, 2021.

THE SHAPE OF THINGS TO COME!

Tuck & Roll will be released in Automobilia, Aug 1st 2021.
Officer Down, Permanently will be released in Sanitarium Magazine, Aug 2021. (DTBC)
Rescue Me will be released in Shelter of Daylight, October 2021. (DTBC)
A Life Of Mystery will be released at 34 Orchard, 11th November 2021.
Philip K. Dick Does It will be released at The Angry Noodle, 2021. (DTBC)
36 Hours In The Space Force will be released in Tales From The Space Force, 2021. (DTBC)
Stranding Room will be released at Abyss & Apex, Jan 2022. (DTBC)
There’s some other stuff coming, I can’t officially talk about it yet. Just know it IS coming.

When I get more solid dates on the date to be confirmeds, I’ll announce them.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS:-

I wrote 7 new stories this month, a total of 3639 words. Nothing crazy long written this month, but I’ve been sticking to the weekly schedule which seems to be working fine.
Some projects are taking longer than expected, hang in there friends, releases will come eventually!