May 2020 Submission Challenge update

9 Mar

All markets have now been checked. All are paying & open during May as far as I have been able to ascertain.

The rules are simple:- Try to sub a story to the market I’ve listed on the day I list it to be used. If you don’t wish to sub on that day or to that market, you don’t have to. In an ideal world, you’ll sub to all 31 markets and have (at least) 31 stories out. If you only want to sub 1 story during the month, that is totally fine! You don’t even have to use these markets, as long as you use a PAYING MARKET!

The private Facebook group was renamed, if you want an invite, message me via FB.

Feel free to get in touch with me on twitter @RayDaleyWriter if you are interested in taking part!


01 – Kanstellation https://www.kanstellation.com/submissions.html (themed)
02 – Abyss & Apex (Flash only!) https://www.abyssapexzine.com/submissions/
03 – F&SF https://www.sfsite.com/fsf/glines.htm
04 – Clarkesworld http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/submissions/
05 – Strange Horizons http://strangehorizons.com/submit/fiction-submission-guidelines/
06 – Interzone http://ttapress.com/interzone/guidelines/
07 – Daily Science Fiction https://dailysciencefiction.com/submit
08 – 3 Lobed Burning Eye https://www.3lobedmag.com/submissions.html
09 – Vestal Review http://www.vestalreview.org/guidelines/
10 – The Arcanist https://thearcanist.io/tag/submission-guidelines/
11 – Asimov’s https://www.asimovs.com/contact-us/writers-guidelines/
12 – Every Day Fiction https://everydayfiction.com/submit-story/
13 – AGNI https://agnionline.bu.edu/submit
14 – Beneath Ceaseless Skies http://www.beneath-ceaseless-skies.com/submissions/
15 – Cast Of Wonders (Banned books week) https://www.castofwonders.org/submissions/
16 – Sirius Science Fiction https://siriussciencefiction.blogspot.com/
17 – Ordinary Mortals Anthology https://www.rogue-blades.com/RBE-Submissions
18 – The Drabblecast https://www.drabblecast.org/submissions/
19 – Electric Spec https://www.electricspec.com/Submissions.html
20 – Metaphorosis https://magazine.metaphorosis.com/guidelines/
21 – Flash Fiction Online http://flashfictiononline.com/main/submission-guidelines-flash-fiction/
22 – (Hybrid Ink) Future//Tense: Sex https://hybrid.ink/submit/anthologies/future-tense/sex/
23 – The Future Fire http://futurefire.net/guidelines/fiction.html
24 – Not One Of Us https://not-one-of-us.pub/about/guidelines/
25 – Chrome Baby http://robindunn.com/chrome-submit.html
26 – Cosmic Roots & Eldritch Shores https://cosmicrootsandeldritchshores.com/submissions/
27 – Nature; Futures http://blogs.nature.com/futureconditional/2015/04/19/how-to-write-for-nature-futures/
28 – Amazing Stories https://submission.amazingstoriesmag.com/guidelines/
29 – Bards & Sages Quarterly https://www.bardsandsages.com/contact_us/fiction_submission_guidelines
30 – The Dark Magazine http://thedarkmagazine.com/submission-guidelines/ (Dark Fantasy)
31 – Shoreline of Infinity – https://www.shorelineofinfinity.com/submissions/

All the above links are verified as PAYING & OPEN DURING MAY. Do not bump any links, most are open for short periods only (those which aren’t “always open” markets). If you struggle to find somewhere open, please use F&SF, Asimov’s, Interzone or Clarkesworld.

Be aware Clarkesworld have a 7 day cool off period so you have to wait once you’ve received a rejection/acceptance there. F&SF, Interzone & Asimov’s, you can send to as soon as you’ve heard back.


SPARES:- Weird Tales Magazine https://www.facebook.com/groups/Horrorwritersassoc/permalink/10156755935966581/ Subs end May 2nd Midnight PST
Cossmass Infinities https://www.cossmass.com/submit/ (Until May 14th)
Write Ahead/The Future Looms https://www.writeaheadthefuturelooms.com/submission-guidelines
The Centropic Oracle http://www.centropicoracle.com/mainpages/subguide.php (Currently Flash only)
Women of the Woods https://www.fabledcollective.com/anthology-submissions.html
Compelling Science Fiction http://compellingsciencefiction.com/guidelines.html
Andromeda Spaceways Magazine https://andromedaspaceways.com/submissions-manager/


Horror links:- Black Static http://ttapress.com/blackstatic/guidelines/
No Sleep Podcast https://www.thenosleeppodcast.com/submissions
Occult Detective Magazine https://greydogtales.com/blog/occult-detective-magazine/

5 Responses to “May 2020 Submission Challenge update”

  1. Iseult Murphy March 9, 2020 at 11:29 pm #

    Ray, this is awesome. You are so generous and supportive. Thank you.

  2. Susan Murrie Macdonald April 25, 2020 at 3:37 am #

    Reblogged this on Susan Macdonald's Blog and commented:
    Raymond Daley is a bookmate of mine. He writes (and sells) a lot more stories than I do. Maybe this will help me catch up with him.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. March News – Heather Ewings - April 1, 2020

    […] you’re a writer of short stories, Ray Daley is running his Story Submission Challenge again in May. Click here to go to his blog post for more […]

  2. April News – Heather Ewings - April 30, 2020

    […] his Story Submission Challenge again. If you’re interested, you can have a look at his plans here. And if you’re on Facebook you can friend Ray and he’ll add you to the Story Submission […]

  3. Ray Daley, an ON TIME Author Interview – Transmundane Press - July 23, 2020

    […] If you want to know more, like which markets we used last time, check out this blog post. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: