Camp NaNoWriMo July 2017 details

28 Jun

I’ve been working on my ideas for this, fleshing the story out a bit.

My feelings are that the story is moving towards novel territory. So 50,000 words or a touch more.

The initial feeling was I was doing five chapters of 10,000 words each but breaking those down into 4 sub-chapters, each of which was 2,500 words long. Basically this was to break a long chapter down into something managable.

I don’t think this is going to work, as the piece currently stands.

I’ve got something to write about for each of the five different chapters the book takes place over (each chapter basically being a year long). I’m not sure if each of those things can run to 10,000 words but there are other things that I can use as filler material.

Currently the goal has been set at 40,000 words which I think is totally do-able without any need to stretch what I’ve got. If I think I’ve got enough once the option to change the goal is available, we’ll see how the actual writing is going.

Six Too Few started out as a short dream which I woke up from. I didn’t immediately write it down. In fact I avoided writing it down over 4 days until I finally reached the point where I had to get the damn thing out of my head.

And now it’s set to potentially be a novel. Mind you, I said that about “On Reaching The Beach“. And that died on its arse within less than a week.

I’m honestly excited about writing this story. Everyone I’ve spoken to about it, I felt enthusiastic telling them the outline. I’m deliberately not counting what I already wrote, so when the Camp starts it’ll be interesting to discover how much I wrote for the opening.

In my own eyes, I’m going to try and stick to the NaNoWriMo ethos and reach my goal before the end of day 30. I’ll try to find out what the exact rules are before the start of day 1.

I’m not sure if I’m going to blog during the Camp period. We’ll see.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

