The “Lost” Novel, more info

13 Oct
Now I’ve had the time to give the contents of that bag a once over, here’s what actually exists in terms of that novel.
 
6 A4 PAGES of synopsis, all typed on the old electric typewriter I had.
 
Roughly 6 pages of handwritten things on the large lined notepad. It was clearly either a spare from Hereford or aquired via Jon in Unit Publications & Forms Store.
 
Somewhere in the region of 20 sheets of handwritten things (too nervous to see what they were) on small A5 sized notepad paper. A cursory exam says each sheet contains plot items and outlines.
 
This is stuff from (I found a fucking date!) 24th Dec 1991. So I was probably in my early days of Command Receipt & Dispatch then.
 
I’m not sure if anyone who isn’t a writer can understand what this is like for me, rediscovering this stuff. I genuinely thought it was lost during the move back home.
 
I’d declared it gone several times over the last 20+ yrs.
 
It’s almost like finding gold.
 
I recalled it being fairly detailed but even skimming the synopsis, I didn’t realise what level of detail I’d gone into. It’s pretty freaking deep.
 
Characters have names, descriptions, backstories, ages. Likewise for scenes, locations, quests.
 
It’s a cross between fantasy & SF. It’s a very blurred line between the two.
 
And it seriously deserves to be finished.
Leave a Reply

