The Story Of My Life (another poem)

29 Jun

The Story Of My Life by Ray Daley.

I’m not the star in the story of my life,
not even a bit-part actor plucked from the chorus.
I’m just the guy who happened to be walking by,
in the right place, at the wrong time.
I’ve got a few lines in this here performance,
the show they call LIFE, for whatever it’s worth.
Sometimes I’ll appear again, back by popular demand they say,
bring back that guy, the one from that thing?
So I’m not the star in the story of my life,
I haven’t even received a full script yet.
My walk-on part is significant in places,
destined to die in the penultimate act.

Leave a Reply

