My Brother, the parrot. A flash fiction short

29 Jun

My Brother, the parrot. (A flash fiction short by Ray Daley)
Sat, 21 Jul 2012

I love him dearly. I can’t imagine him ever not being here.
Not having him is like not breathing, it’s simply not possible.

“Is his mind still okay?” I ask the attendant.
She passes the meter across his forehead, lights all go green.

“Seems to be fine.” she replies.

“Fit for transfer?” I ask.
“Sure, just needs the receptive vessel.” she says.

I lean over and pass her the cage. We call him Thomas.
I guess that’ll have to change.
“Goodbye Thomas. You’re doing a great thing.” I give him my last farewell.

The transfer process is short and sweet, information compressed and recorded. Thomas is placed on the recorder and the attendant throws the switch.

Four seconds later I hear my brother again.

Welcome back Matthias.
He ain’t heavy, he’s my parrot.

To quote Oasis? You and I, we’re gonna live forever.

The End.

Leave a Reply

