Mime Club, A Flash Fiction story

29 Jun

Mime Club, A Flash Fiction story by Ray Daley.

The sign hung on the wall for everyone present to see.

NO TALKING! THIS MEANS YOU!

“What time are we starting?” I asked. I’d only heard about this place yesterday and frankly I’d come because it sounded like it might be a bit of a laugh.

He’d been standing at the front as we’d all filed into the room, with his back to us. When he heard me speak he finally turned around. He picked up one of those old wooden metre sticks and smacked it against the sign.

Then he dropped the stick on the ground. And just for a second there I had the feeling he’d considered launching it at my head.

He pulled an Ipad from somewhere within his jacket and held it up for everyone to see.

WELCOME TO MIME CLUB
1ST RULE OF MIME CLUB, NO TALKING ABOUT MIME CLUB
2ND RULE OF MIME CLUB, READ THE 1ST RULE.

He swiped right.

ANY QUESTIONS?

I raised my hand.

He pointed at me.

Crap. How do I mime “Can I get the hell out of here please?”

THE END.

Leave a Reply

