The end of the job

22 Apr

As of today, I am unemployed again.

I gave my notice today, on grounds of ill health. I’d been working tired, sick and hurt and it was effecting my ability to do the job.

Frankly I’d been hanging on to see if things got better. They didn’t.

I’m going to take the rest of this month to finish my novel, then I will start looking for something with less hours or part time. I won’t be taking another call-centre job, nor will I be working full-time again.

I simply can’t hack it any more. I tried my best, but it wasn’t good enough.

Of the work colleagues I told, all of them were surprised to hear me say I was done. Several of them said “But you were doing so well.
I really wasn’t. I’d been dragged over the coals about something a few days ago, and was facing an early probation assessment.

From the way my manager was talking, it sounded like they were looking at letting me go any way. So I chose to leave on my terms.

I gave the job all I had. It simply wasn’t to be.

Leave a Reply

