The Grasses of Remembrance, a flash fiction story

11 Nov

11/8/12

The Grasses of Remembrance
grass

Their planet was green, grass stretched in every direction as far as the eye could see.

“Do you like our memorial?”

I looked up to see an old man standing a few feet away, I smiled at him. “Excuse me?”

“Our memorial, do you like it?” he asked me.

I’m not sure I understand. “A memorial to what? Where?” I ask him.

“A memorial to all who have fallen in battle. It’s all around you. Every blade of grass represents one soul lost in combat.”

“Yes, its beautiful. We have something similar on my own planet, it’s called Earth. Only ours is made of sea water. One drop for every lost soul.”

THE END

Remember the fallen and all veterans today.

Leave a Reply

