Waiting For God, a flash fiction story

13 Feb

Waiting For God, a flash fiction story by Ray Daley

 

As the sun went out, the Earth had little more than minutes left.

The entity waited patiently, as it had done since the moment this Universe had formed. As it waited, an avatar popped into existence next to it.

“What ya doing?” it asked the entity.

“Waiting,” said the entity.

“What for?” asked the avatar.

“Not sure,” said the entity, “they just told me to wait here until something happened.”

“Something? Like what?” asked the avatar.

“Don’t know,” said the entity, “they seemed pretty sure I’d know it when I saw it though.”

“Who are ‘they’?” asked the avatar.

“The people who made me. And this Universe.”

“Did they make me?” asked the avatar.

“Nope. I made you. I was getting bored. I wanted someone to talk to.”

As the Earth froze, all life as we know it ended. Then the light from the sun faded forever.

“That looks a bit like something, don’t you think?” asked the avatar, pointing towards the frozen Earth.

“It might be. I don’t think that’s it though.” said the entity.

“It?”

“What I’m waiting for.” said the entity.

“So what’re you going to do then?” asked the avatar.

“I’m just gonna keep on waiting. I’ll know it when I see it. They were sure I would be. Can’t question your creators, can you?”

“I have,” said the avatar.

“Good point.” said the entity, and with that, the avatar popped out of existence. And the entity sat quietly in the blackness of space, utterly unaware it had already missed its moment.

THE END.

Leave a Reply

