When Do You Give Up On An Idea?

4 May

How long do you leave something in “development”?

I’ve got stuff that dates from a few days old to a year, two years, and even as old as over 16 years old.
When do you, as an author, finally say “I can’t take this any further than I have it”?

Because I have no clue.
Authors can be hoarders.

I don’t want to throw things away but I know one day I won’t finish everything I’ve started.
I can say this:- I would like to finish everything I’ve started.

I’ll probably die before that happens.

One Response to “When Do You Give Up On An Idea?”

  1. Krishna Dev May 4, 2014 at 5:59 pm #

    Hari Om,

    Here is what I do with my past writings. I scan through my dairies for ideas which were left unfinished and I try to finish them one by one.
    While writing, if that idea does not impress me, I dump it and move on to the next one.
    Some times a previous idea give birth to a fresh idea which seem much attractive. Everyday I try to learn something new, the new knowledge always helps in understanding and developing your past ideas.
    Give it a try. 🙂

    Regards,
    Krishna Dev

Leave a Reply

