The Misunderstanding. A Flash Fiction story by Ray Daley.

22 Apr

The tower creaked as the howling wind whipped around its base.

“Do it now?” the womans voice called down from far above my head.
“Yes! Now!” I shouted back.

“Watch out below!” came back the cry of the female voice from high above my head. I took a few steps back. Then a few more. Then started running as I heard the whistling sound rapidly approaching me.

‘What the hell?’ I thought to myself. ‘Is that bitch bombing me?’

The was an almighty BOOM as something hit the ground about fifty feet away from me. It had landed at the base of the tower. I walked over slowly to investigate.

It was what had probably been a boy, he was pretty dead now though. If the fall hadn’t killed him, the impact definitely did.

“What the hell did you do?” I shouted up at her.

“That’s my son. Isn’t that what you wanted? My heir?” she called down.

“Jesus Rapunzel, you stupid crazy bitch! That’s not what I meant when I said ‘Throw down your hair’! H. A. I. R. “

Leave a Reply

