A personal memory of war

24 Feb

23 years ago in 1991 at 4am, the land battle started for the first Gulf War, Operation Desert Storm.

And I was part of it. I was at war.

I was serving in the Royal Air Force, stationed at RAF High Wycombe and my job was within the Primary War Headquarters.
A pretty important place in military terms. As a clerk my job was to process signals and make sure they got to who needed them, some of that involved actually running around and delivering by hand for the really important stuff.

So while most of you were in your beds, enjoying your sleep, some of us were taking part in the biggest land battle since the end of the Second World War.

Remember that the next time you look at my picture. I’ve seen things. Things I’d rather forget.
One day I might. I hope. And on that day, for me the war really will be over. At last.

Leave a Reply

