What were we fighting for during Gulf War 1? Apparently NOT freedom of any kind.

17 Jan

Songs banned by the BBC during the first Gulf War, listed alphabetically

1  ABBA – Waterloo, Under Attack
2  A-ha – Hunting High And Low
3  The Alarm – 68 Guns
4  The Animals – We Gotta get out of this place
5  Arrival – I will Survive
6  Joan Baez – The night they drove old dixie down
7  The Bangles – Walk like an egyptian
8  The Beatles – Back In the USSR
9  Pat Benatar – Love is a battlefield
10 Big Country – Fields Of Fire
11 Blondie – Atomic
12 The Boomtown Rats – I don’t like Mondays
13 The Brook Brothers – Warpaint
14 The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown – fire
15 Kate Bush – Army Dreamers
16 Cher – Bang Bang (My baby shot me down)
17 Eric Clapton – I shot the sheriff
18 Phil Collins – In the air tonight
19 Elvis Costello – Olivers Army
20 Cutting Crew – I just died in your arms tonight
21 Skeeter Davis – End of the world
22 Desmond Dekker – Israelites
23 Dire Straits – Brothers In Arms
24 Duran Duran – View To A Kill
25 Jose Feliciano – Light My Fire
26 First Choice – Armed & Extremely dangerous
27 Roberta Flack – Killing me softly
28 Frankie Goes To Hollywood – two tribes
29 Eddy Grant – Living in the frontline, give me hope joanna
30 Elton John – Saturday Nights alright for fighting
31 Millie Jackson – Act Of War
32 Johnny Hates Jazz – I dont want to be a hero
33 John Lennon – Imagine, Give peace a chance
34 Jona Lewie – Stop the cavalry
35 Lulu – Bomm Bang a Bang
36 Mcguinness Flint – When I’m dead and gone
37 Bob Marley – Buffalo Soldier
38 Maria Muldaur – Midnight at the oasis
39 MASH – Suicide is painless
40 Mike & The Mechanics – Silent Running
41 Rick Nelson – Fools rush in
42 Nicole – A little peace
43 Billy Ocean – When the going gets tough
44 Donny Osmond – Soldier of love
45 Paper Lace – Billy, dont be a hero
46 Queen – Killer Queen, Flash
47 Martha Reeves – Forget me not
48 B A Robertson – Bang bang
49 Tom Robinson – War Baby
50 Kenny Rogers – Ruby (Don’t take your love to town)
51 Spandau Ballet – I’ll fly for you
52 The Specials  – Ghost town
53 Bruce Springsteen – I’m on fire
54 Edwin Starr – War
55 Status Quo – In the army now, Burnin’ Bridges
56 Cat Stevens – I’m gonna get me a gun
57 Rod Stewart – Sailing
58 Donna Summer – State of independance
59 Tears For Fears – Everybody wants to rule the world
60 The Temptations – ball of confusion
61 10CC – Rubber bullets
62 Stevie Wonder – heaven help us all

List taken from Sociology in Perspective – Google Books.

Leave a Reply

