The Year Of Living Bradbury

28 Dec

I’ve finally made a concrete decision. Not easy for someone like me whose moods swing up & down like a demented roller coaster but I’ve been thinking the idea over & have now decided to do it.

Ray Bradbury once said you should try to write one story per week to improve your writing, even if you didn’t write very good stuff every week at least at the end of the year you’d have 52 stories and SOME of them would be good, if not excellent. As I see it, it’d also get you into the habit of writing on a more regular basis, a good path to becoming more writing orientated. Be a more consistant writer, a more focused writer.

So I’ve decided I am going to try this next year. 1 story written and finished every single week of the year. 7 days to write something, regardless of genre is a decent amount of time. It allows for thinking, implementation, editing and realistically isn’t a massive hard deadline. There are lots of places that have writing prompts and I also find places with quite inspiring images so no shortage of things to get ideas from.

I might find myself writing things very similar. Not a new occurance but something I’ll have to get used to. I’m going to need to set a few rules and guidelines so I can’t cheat, either myself or you, my loyal readers and supporters.

RULES:-

From January 1st 2014 to December 31st 2014 I resolve to write ONE story every week.
The story MUST be completed before midnight of the final day.
Definition of “a week”:- A week being a period of 7 days.
Definition of a “story”:- At least flash length, 100 words minimum. There is no maximum.
Definition of “completed”:- Story must be fully written, showing THE END. The story may be spellchecked & proofed after this.

Stories can be in any genre.
If the deadline is missed at any point during the year, the challenge is deemed to have been failed.
(Close only counts in horseshoes and handgrenades, as Jesse Ventura once said)

I am probably completely insane for even thinking about attempting this, let alone actually attempting it.

Some likely questions addressed

What is going to happen to these stories? Initially, nothing. They will be collected & released as an anthology eventually.
Will this effect monthly free releases? No, these are already finished & ready.
Will there be blogging about these stories? Probably just on their status, ie:- Finished or not. If I have time.

Anyway, there’s the intention. I may well regret this and change my mind in the next 4 days. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

